Read the full story at 5News.

ARKANSAS (KFSM) — Only one cultivation center in Northwest Arkansas was selected by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission Tuesday (Feb. 27).

The commission announced Tuesday (Feb. 27) the first five groups selected to legally grow medical marijuana in the state. Osage Creek Cultivation, LLC  in Carroll County was the only one selected from Northwest Arkansas.

None were selected in Benton or Washington counties.

Osage Creek management said in a statement they are excited to enter into the medical cannabis industry:

We would like to say our family is very excited to have the opportunity work with the State of Arkansas to provide its people the best possible medical cannabis. We are focused on complying with all relevant rules and regulations and getting into production as quickly as prudently possible.

Natural State Medicinals Cultivation in Jefferson County, Bold Team, LLC in Woodruff County, Natural State Wellness Enterprises in Jefferson County, Natural State Wellness Enterprises in Jackson County and Delta Medical Cannabis Company, Inc. in Jackson County were all selected. The owners of Natural State Wellness Enterprises must select which county they want to be used as the location for the cultivation center.

River Valley Relief in Fort Smith was selected as runner-up meaning they will be given a license if a selected center falls through.

The commission reviewed a total of 95 applications with about 24 of those applications being from our area.

The cost to submit an application was $15,000. The selected centers will owe an additional $100,000.